Don’t Embrace your Mistake, Feed it to the Dogs.

I just might start to sound like a pretentious new age Buddhist with all my quoting but I think someone has reached a whole level of being able to be called profound when they are quotable. I want to be quotable someday.

Here’s my one of my very favorite quotes by George Martin’s ASOIAF character Tyrion Lannister.

Never forget what you are. The rest of the world will not. Wear it like armor and it can never be used to hurt you.”

I like this quote because it speaks to all the misfits that don’t fit into society; all the bastards and the imps. But then I heard it misused and I was about to mouth off to this misuser full on black woman style until I remembered I often make the same mistake this person has made.

Let me say it straight. YOU SHOULD NOT LEARN TO EMBRACE YOUR LACK OF PUNCTUALITY OR YOUR BAD LITTERING HABIT OR YOUR BAD BREATH. Those are big problems you should fix.

I’m not perfect. I’m Pluto to the sun of perfections. My easy flaring temper, procrastination, lack of patience, improper use of money, staring, scaring people(although I don’t know how it’s my fault that some idiot is scared of a 5,1 girl who’d giggle at the word bubble)….. I know I got problems. Some have helped me. I mean they have actually protected me from people but I don’t think one should accept shitty behavior as part of his/her standing personality.

I’ve learned that people are truly thankless. No matter what you do, it’ll always be inadequate. Something will always be wrong. My one life rule has been to never change for people.I don’t know if it’s good advice I should be imparting to people but some people just gotta change. Accepting ‘who you are’ has sort of become like the preaching of almost all the rom-coms and the drama movies we had been watching throughout the past decade. But don’t let who you are be that person who spits when he talks or that person with the a chronic lying habit. I’m sure my impatience is like dripping all over this post here but I have been dealing with some pretty complicated people I guess.

I took a seminar about self-branding last year and the guy giving the lecture was a genius. He said somethings that stuck with me. He said we can make our own brands.  We can’t completely control what people say about us and the way people brand us but we sure as hell play a part. That guy who wants to be a total gentleman only needs to put the time and energy to become one. That girl who would like to be a life changer only need put time and energy to do so. It’s gonna cost something but it’s not impossible.

If we think we should be accepted and loved as we are, we sure as hell think we are perfect. So think again?

Leave a Reply

